Township Council

Mine Hill Township operates under the “Mayor-Council Plan” of the Optional Municipal Charter Law, also known as the Faulker Act.   The Mayor-Council Plan is modeled after the federal and state governments, consisting of two separate and co-equal power centers directly elected by the people: the Mayor as chief executive, and the Council as the municipal legislature.

The Mine Hill Township Council meets on the first and third Thursdays of most months.  Please see the Calendar for information pertaining to upcoming Council Meetings.  The Council can be contacted by calling Town Hall at 973-366-9031 and selecting Option 7 for the Municipal Clerk.  Each Council member also has a mailbox located just inside the front door of Town Hall.

Meet the Township Council:  

From Left: Fred Willis, Bret Coranato, Kristine Kanzenbach, David Bloom, Conrad Pepperman

Council President David Bloom was appointed to the Council in January of 2012 and re-elected the following November; he serves as the Council Representative to the Open Space Committee.  He has been a resident of Mine Hill since 1990, and currently resides on Randolph Avenue with his wife, Margaret, and their dogs.  After obtaining his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Mechanical Engineering, Dave moved to New Jersey from Massachusetts in 1988, and he is currently employed by Nokia as an Engineering Director in the Wireless Product Development Division.  In his spare time, Dave enjoys gardening, skiing, cycling and home improvements.

Council Vice President Conrad Pepperman was appointed to the Council in 2010, after serving on the Planning Board.  He currently resides on Valley View Drive with his three daughters: Alexa, Aryanna, and Avery.  Conrad is a graduate of County College of Morris and Rowan College, and holds a Masters degree from Fairleigh Dickinson University. He is also a graduate of the West Point Command and Leadership Program.  Conrad is employed by the Rockaway Borough Police Department as a Sergeant overseeing the Records Division and a Patrol Squad; he also serves as the Deputy Domestic Violence Liaison Officer and the Municipal Counter-terrorism Coordinator and is a member of the Morris County Rapid Deployment Team.  Conrad enjoys spending time with his daughters, working out and watching the New York Rangers.

Councilman Bret Coranato is a lifelong resident of Mine Hill, and currently resides on Route 46 with his wife, Nancy, and their two daughters, Alisha and Christina.  Bret is the Council Liaison for the Board of Education, the Mine Hill Beach Committee, the Senior Citizens’ Good Years Club, and the Interlocal Services Committee. In the past he has also served on the Mine Hill Recreation Commission and as co-chairman of the Mine Hill Day Committee.  Bret is also a youth leader for junior and senior high students at Grace Church in Netcong.  When not running his home improvement company, Bret enjoys coaching his daughter’s soccer team and running.

Councilwoman Kristine Kanzenbach has been a resident of Mine Hill since 2002, and currently resides on Frank Street; Kris has been a member of the Council since 2009, and currently serves as Council Liaison to the Recreation Committee and the Community Development Profit Sharing Committee.  When not working as a Systems Analyst at Schindler (previously Westinghouse Elevator), Kris enjoys coaching soccer, gardening, home improvements, puzzles and mysteries, and visiting with her children and grandchildren.

Councilman Fred Willis was elected to the Council in 2011, and serves as Council Liaison to the Planning Board.  A lifelong resident of Morris County, Fred has lived in Mine Hill with his wife, Karen, since 1995 and is self employed as a contractor.

Minutes, Ordinances & Resolutions

Minutes, Ordinances and Resolutions of the Township Council are not readily available in digital copy prior to January of 2012. Information from January of 2012 forward will be made available on this site as we are able.